Don’t Let Fear Stop You

I wanted to try the Paleo diet for many months before I actually went “all in” and gave it a shot. Looking back I realize that it was my fear of failure, not my fear of giving up bread, that kept me from really trying for all those months. Now I understand that, that same fear is probably keeping many of my readers from giving Paleo eating a “real” shot. (And possibly a little bit of fear that it might actually make you feel amazing!) It was the same reason I waited so many years to quit smoking. It took me four or five tries, but I did quit (it has been several years, I have actually lost count)–and you can too!

Fear of failing has kept me from doing a lot of things in my life, but in my recent years I have been learning to let go of that fear. It has been amazing, despite the fact that I have actually failed at times. But you know what? I was ok. Actually, I am quickly learning that failure is something that we should embrace, not fear.

Take parenting and owning a business as two examples. I have not been doing either for much time, but I have already “failed” at both many, many times. These “failures” though, have actually proved to be very important lessons. Had I never experienced the failures, then the lessons would have been lost.

Some of the things I was successful at, because I faced my fear of failure:

I negotiated the price of my last used car.

I gave birth without any pain medicine.

I started a business. (I wouldn’t call this a “success just yet, but it isn’t a failure yet either.)

All three of these experiences were more empowering than I could ever fit into this computer screen. I most certainly would not be the person that I am today if I had not swallow my fear and took that first step towards facing my fear.

So if fear of failure is keeping you from really giving Paleo (or something else) a shot, please stand up and look your fear in the face!  And if you can’t do it 100% hard core right away that is ok. The point is to do something though.

If I would have counted, I probably failed at Paleo at least 50 times since I have started. That does not keep me from trying to eat my next meal Paleo though. If you are brave enough, give the Whole30 challenge a try with us (check out my post about it here). I promise it will change your life. Even if you go back to eating some unhealthy foods I am confident that you will have a much larger awareness of what you are eating, which will help you to make better choices.

 

Blog Pics

Leave a Reply

