Let’s Talk About Lard

I went to a health fair today to discuss my business, which offers whole food cooking classes and workshops for children and adults. One of the people I spoke with was very shocked (as many many people are) when I said that cooking with lard from well taken care of, pastured pigs is actually healthy. Not to mention it is cheap compared to most healthy cooking fats, so it is great for people like me on a budget!

It was hard for me to wrap my head around this concept at first as well, considering that the thought of lard previously made me instantly think clogged arteries. Not to mention eating pig fat? What?! Ugh. But that was then and this is now. And now I feel empty inside when I am out of lard. haha But really, it has truly become a staple in our home these days. My son ate all of his vegetables at dinner tonight! At 2, this is not an everyday occurrence. But really, who can resist anything roasted with lard?

I enjoy learning the science behind how food affects us;however, I believe it is best to leave it to the experts when it comes to explaining it. Below are a few links to check out regarding what fats are “healthy”, including our good friend lard:

http://www.thepaleomom.com/2011/11/what-about-fat.html

http://nomnompaleo.com/post/2143915389/roast-your-veggies-doused-in-lard

http://culinaryarts.about.com/b/2008/09/21/lard-the-other-good-fat.htm

Check back next week for my Grain Free Sweet Potato Pie recipe, just in time for the holidays, made with, you guess it, lard!

I get my lard from my local farmer’s market. Either Sullivan Farms out of Fayette or Crocker Farms out of Centralia. Remember all lard is not created equally. 

In the end, as always, it is your decision on what you put into your mouth, so don’t take my word for it (or anyone else’s). Do your homework and decide for yourself; but, please just don’t throw lard out without a fair trial as I previously did.

If you use lard like me, what is your favorite thing to prepare with it?

One thought on “Let’s Talk About Lard

Leave a Reply

